Maintaining document versions
Planfix supports document versioning, meaning you can save different versions of the same document and work with them. You can download or edit the most recent version of a document or any older version of it at any time.
When viewing a document, the Version history panel shows all older versions of the document, who has downloaded them, and when. You can download older versions of a document if you would like to use them.
Uploading new versions of a document
You can upload a new version of a document manually or automatically. To manually upload a new version of a document, click the corresponding link underneath the document's name:
To automatically upload a new version, first, simply upload the file. Planfix checks whether a file with the same name exists in the current project and offers you a choice of what to do next. Note that the search is limited to the project that the Task being used to upload the document belongs to. Therefore:
- If another file with the same name exists in another project, the automatic check won't detect it, and the system will consider it a different document.
- If the task where a document is uploaded doesn't belong to a project, the automatic check will only look at files in the task. If you move the task to a project that already contains a document with the same name, this will not prompt document versioning.
Automatically replacing files with new versions
In "Account management" — "System settings" — "Advanced features", there is an option called "Replace old versions when uploading a new file version". This setting determines what happens when you upload a file with a name that already exists in a Task.
Use the checkboxes below to specify where this replacement applies:
- In comments — for files attached to comments.
- In the task description — for files in the Task description.
- In file-type fields — for files in custom fields of the corresponding type.
The selected mode works the same way for all upload methods: through the Planfix interface, when editing online, and when uploading a new version via the API.